The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety [Book Review]

I’ve learned we were wrong about Psychological Safety.

Find out the The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety.


Here’s some key messages from this episode:

– Why I’m biased about this book

– Why Psychological Safety is transactional

– How Psychological Safety can lead to exploitation


Here’s some key takeaways from this episode:

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety

“Psychological safety is a condition in which human beings feel (1) included, (2) safe to learn, (3) safe to contribute, and (4) safe to challenge the status quo”

Inclusion is the beginning not the end for Innovation 

“The end goal is to be innovative, productive and creative. Inclusion isn’t the end. It’s the beginning” 

Psychological Safety exists in social units 

“You’re able to participate as a functioning member of the social unit.. this was characterised as a team.. but it could be any social group” 

In every episode you will find:

– A specific question for you to answer

– A challenge for you to consider

– An action for you to take

Here’s some resources so you can go deeper:

The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety


If you liked this show you will love our newsletter

Get 1 actionable insight in your inbox every Wednesday afternoon

You also get free access to the Element of Inclusion Book Club

Sign Up Here to get started 


We believe in the importance of sharing.

Share this episode with a friend who can benefit from what you’re learning here.

Check out these related episodes of the show.

The Fearless Organization [Book Review ]

Make sure you subscribe so you don’t miss any episodes.


Follow Dr. Jonathan to get Evidence Based Inclusion Insights 7 days a week



The Elements of Inclusion #4